NOSCA's 2017 Shortlisted Announced | Norfolk Constabulary

You are here

NOSCA's 2017 Shortlisted Announced

The judges for the Norfolk Safer Community Awards (NOSCAs) 2017 have now shortlisted the nominations for each of the award categories.

As NOSCAs reaches its first decade of recognising dedication and excellent service, we will be celebrating the valuable contribution of these police officers, staff and local community members in helping keep Norfolk a safe place to live, work and visit.

The judging panel consisted of:

  • Chief Constable Simon Bailey
  • Mr Mark Stokes, OPCC
  • Superintendent Julie Wvendth – Superintendents' Association
  • Miss Lindsay Shankland - Director of Joint Human Resources
  • Mrs Claire Cabrini - UNISON
  • Inspector Sam Hawkins – Norfolk Police Federation
  • Inspector Amie Abbs - Staff Officer to Chief Constable Simon Bailey

Readers of the Eastern Daily Press voted for the three Community Officer of the Year awards.

The four other categories that members of the public submitted nominations for were The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year, Young Citizen(s) of the Year, Community Citizen(s) of the Year and Police Dog of the Year.

Chief Constable Simon Bailey would like to thank everybody who took the time to nominate for this, thetenth anniversary Norfolk Safer Community Awards 2017.

Judges were impressed with the number of entries and the high standard presented and have shortlisted the top two in each category other than Police Dog of the Year. All those shortlisted will be invited to the Norfolk Safer Community Awards presentation evening which takes place at Holiday Inn North, Cromer Road, Norwich on Thursday 12 October.

Those shortlisted in each category are:

The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year Award

Michael Bennett
Sally Mack


Young Citizen(s) of the Year

Emily Freeman
Charlie Mason


Community Citizen(s) of the Year

Great Yarmouth CCTV Team - Theresa Curtis, Adam Lawes, Jonathan Newman, Stephen Spilsted and Karen Watts
Noleen Woodhouse and Natalie Sands


Special Officer of the Year

SC 7749 Jonathan Jackson (Breckland)

SS 7004 Thomas Render (South Norfolk)


Community Officer of the Year – Police Officer

PC 508 Jon Downs (Breckland)

PC 1668 Dan Taylor (Norwich West)


Community Officer of the Year – PCSO

PCSO 8269 Michael Clark (King’s Lynn and West Norfolk )

PCSO 8542 Joseph Pike (South Norfolk)


Police Dog of the Year
Chosen by Norfolk Constabulary's Facebook community

PC Adrian Vincent and PD Claude

PC James Stocking and PD Miko

PC Jamie Ward and PD Neeko

PC Emma Grosvenor and PD Reiker