NOSCAs 2019 - who will you nominate? | Norfolk Constabulary

You are here

NOSCAs 2019 - who will you nominate?


Norfolk’s Chief Constable has once again invited members of the public to join him in recognising people who go above and beyond in their service to the community, as the twelfth Norfolk Safer Community Awards (NOSCAs) is launched.

It allows officers to highlight their professional, impartial and respectful behaviour, supporting vulnerable members of society whilst acting with integrity and honesty. The NOSCAs celebrates the valuable contribution police officers, staff and the local communities make in helping to keep Norfolk a safe place to live, work and visit in the true spirit of policing.

Launching the awards, Chief Constable Simon Bailey said: "The NOSCAs celebrations are a truly important part of our culture. It’s a real opportunity for me to say thank you to the officers, staff and members of the public who support and serve our communities tirelessly with transparency and integrity.

“I always say that our greatest asset is our staff and this annual event has come to be recognised as a showcase for those people who go that extra mile. Not only do we celebrate the success of our colleagues but also those in our local communities, who through their actions and words show how much they value the people and the areas in which they live and work.

“I would urge you to nominate and vote for those colleagues who deserve recognition and those members of the community who similarly deserve a thank you.”

Appreciation can be shown by voting for them in categories that range from Community Officer of the Year (nominated by district commanders within the force), the John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year, Young Citizen(s) of the Year and Community Citizen(s) of the Year.

Voting forms will be available in the Eastern Daily Press newspaper, on @EDP24 and nominations can also be made through the NOSCAs 2019 website from Friday 14 June 2019.

As part of the awards the Chief Constable will also choose recipients for the Special Recognition Award and acknowledging officers and staff with a Bravery Award, which recognises outstanding courage in the line of duty. In addition, followers of Norfolk Constabulary's Facebook page will once again be asked to vote for the Police Dog of the Year -

Voting closes on Wednesday 31 July. The winners and runners-up will be invited to the special awards evening taking place at the Holiday Inn, Cromer Road, Norwich on Thursday 10 October 2019. 

Full information about the awards and entry criteria is available on the NOSCAs website along with online nomination forms for all categories

NOSCAs welcome back its continuing loyal sponsors who are united with us in acknowledging how important the services provided are.  Irene East, Head of Barclays Corporate Relations for the Eastern Region said: “ Barclays work closely with Norfolk Police in not only keeping our customers, colleagues and the community safe, but also in fraud detection and prevention. Sponsoring once again the award of ‘Investigator of the Year’ supports that partnership and recognises the work that goes into solving these and other crimes.”

Some of our sponsors this year include the Eastern Daily Press, Co-op Secure Response, the Police and Crime Commissioner for Norfolk, Reed Global and Shell UK Ltd. 

Our 2019 sponsors are: 

  • Eastern Daily Press
  • Police & Crime Commissioner for Norfolk
  • Barclays
  • Co-op Secure Response
  • Shell UK Ltd
  • Reed Global
  • City College Norwich
  • Sopra Steria
  • Royal Canin
  • Slater and Gordon
  • Holiday Inn 

2019 categories are:

1 Community Citizen(s) of the Year

2 The John (Cecil) Mason Volunteer of the Year

3 Young Citizen(s) of the Year

4 Police Cadet of the Year

5 Student Officer of the Year

6 **Community Officer of the Year – Special Officer

7 **Community Officer of the Year – Police Officer

8 Investigator of the Year

8 Problem Solver of the Year

9 Outstanding Leadership Award

10 Police Staff Member of the Year

11 *The Chief Constable's Special Recognition Award

12 *The Hannah Witheridge Special Recognition Award

13 *The Bravery Award

14 Response Team of the Year

15 ***Police Dog of the Year

16 Outstanding Team of the Year

17 Safer Neighbourhood Team of the Year

*Chosen by the Chief Constable

**Chosen by EDP readers only

***Chosen by Norfolk Constabulary Facebook users